New The SBOK® Guide is now available for download in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Deutsch, French, Italian, Chinese, Japanese & Arabic!
Global Accreditation Body for Scrum and Agile Certifications


The Initiate phase consists of the following processes:

  1. Create Project Vision - In this process, the project business case is reviewed to create a Project Vision Statement that will serve as the inspiration and provide focus for the entire project. The Product Owner is identified in this process.
  2. Identify Scrum Master and Business Stakeholder(s) - In this process, the Scrum Master and business stakeholders are identified using specific selection criteria.
  3. Form Scrum Team - In this process, Scrum Team members are identified. Normally the Product Owner has the primary responsibility of selecting team members, but often does so in collaboration with the Scrum Master.

Download Free Online
SCRUMstudy SBOK® Guide e-book

(400 pages)

Free Download

  1. Develop Epic(s) - In this process, the Project Vision Statement serves as the basis for developing Epics. User Group Meetings may be held to discuss appropriate Epics.
  2. Create Prioritized Product Backlog - In this process, Epic(s) are refined, elaborated, and then prioritized to create a Prioritized Product Backlog for the project. The Done Criteria is also established at this point.
  3. Conduct Release Planning - In this process, the Product Owner with support from the Scrum Team develops a Release Planning Schedule, which is essentially a phased deployment schedule that can be shared with the project’s business stakeholders. Length of Sprint is also determined in this process.

Following is the data flow diagram of the Initiate phase, broadly showing how different processes are connected to each other. For more details on different processes, please refer to SBOK® Guide.

Marketing Strategy

Download Free online SCRUMstudy SBOK® (400 pages)