Expert Scrum Master Certified (ESMC)


Expert Scrum Master Certified (ESMC) certification is the next step for Scrum practitioners to further demonstrate their expertise in Scrum methodology. This will test your ability to manage complex Scrum projects and scale Scrum in complex projects involving big project teams, programs and portfolios.

Applicants will be awarded the Expert Scrum Master Certified (ESMC) certificate by SCRUMstudy upon successfully passing the certification exam.

Certification Prerequisites Target Audience Cost Of Exam Maintaining Certification(RCUs)
Experience Education
ESMC 3 Years managing SCRUM/AGILE projects Should be SMC, SAMC, and SPOC Certified Experienced Scrum Professional USD 800 60 Recertification units every 3 years

Exam Format

  • Multiple Choice
  • 200 questions per exam
  • 240 minutes duration
  • Proctored online exam

Audience Profile

This Certification is suitable for anyone who is an expert in the SCRUM team and wants to handle complicated Scrum projects as an Expert Scrum Master Certified.


To become an ESMC certified professional you should fulfil the following criteria:

  • Should have three years of experience managing Scrum/Agile Projects
  • Should be SMC, SAMC and SPOC certified.
  • Should submit 500 words write up about two Scrum/Agile projects.
  • You can also attend a 2-day ESMC classroom training provided by a SCRUMstudy A.T.P.

How to Apply

  1. Register for free on and apply for the exam (OR) Attend a classroom training provided by SCRUMstudy registered education provider and register on
  2. Apply for the exam by paying USD 800 or by using the exam voucher provided by a SCRUMstudy A.T.P. You need to submit relevant information to establish your eligibility to take the exam. Please check the "Prerequisites" section above for more information.

    To submit the relevant information about your professional experience and other prerequisites, please click here

  3. Access the online course and take the exam
    1. Get access to online course on 'Expert Scrum Master Certified'.
    2. Download SBOK Guide online version.
    3. Schedule the four hour proctored exam.
    4. SCRUMstudy verifies the application; confirms the exam date & time.
    5. Take the four hour online proctored exam.
  4. Upon successful completion of the exam get an online certificate.
    1. Your name will be added to the SCRUMstudy Certification Registry.
    2. The physical certificate will be shipped to you.
    3. If you are unable to pass the exam, you can reapply by paying USD 600.

Maintaining Certification

To maintain the certification status, Expert Scrum Master Certified (ESMC) professionals will need to earn 60 re-certification units every 3 years.

No classes available in your country now;
however, you can enroll in online courses